what would you do?

I just read an article this morning that I think would definitely stir the Christian pot. Take a look really quickly for yourself and try to think about what you would do, and I would encourage you to think about this especially in terms of this being a very close friend of yours. What would you do? Why or why not?

Personally, I wouldn’t give it a second thought (provided I was invited to this wedding obviously). I would be there for my friend in a heartbeat. While my beliefs on how gay marriage intermingles with faith are a little more complicated than that, I think that we need to go back to what Jesus said are the two greatest commandments which can be found in Matthew 22:36-40.

“‘Teacher, which is the great commandment in the Law?’ And He said to him, ‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the great and first commandment. And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself. On these two commandments depend all the Law and the Prophets.”

When it comes down to it, I think that these are the commandments that we need to be the most careful of obeying, and they have to do with love. For me, I would much rather err on the side of love than on the side of worrying that we’re going to “unintentionally endorse sin” or something like that.

After all, Jesus was caught hanging around with sinners and outcasts all the time. He defended the woman caught in adultery from the Pharisees. He had dinner with tax collectors. He brought in His disciples from all walks of life, many that were ostracized because of their professions. He even spoke with and forgave one of the criminals who was on another cross beside Him as He was dying. Jesus didn’t necessarily keep a “noble” crowd around Him, especially if you asked the Pharisees in His day. If we’re supposed to be emulating the life of Christ, what does that imply for us?

Think about it this way, especially if your friend doesn’t happen to be a Christian. How would you feel if one of your friends refused to attend your wedding because they believed it was sinful? I don’t know about you, but I think that I would probably be more hurt and turned away from Christianity than anything else, and I don’t think that’s what we’re called to do. Yes, the Gospel definitely offends, but I think that if we’re making people feel unloved and pushed away because of the actions that we take, then I think that we should maybe reexamine them.

I’m not trying to say to go against your conscience on something like this, but I feel like if you have a gay friend who is already willing to and feels close enough to you to invite you to their wedding, then you should at least be willing to consider these things. I just think that, as Christians, we have been called to be a people of love, something that I feel like has been lost in the past few hundred years. I think that we have grown too concerned with presenting ourselves as a “holy people,” being “in the world and not of it,” “hating the sin, and loving the sinner” (a saying that I absolutely detest by the way), and a myriad of other “Christianese” things that we have forgotten what our true calling is.

We have been called to be a people of love and to make disciples of all nations, and I’d argue of all philosophies, sexualities, and everything else that is out there in the world. I think that we need to get back to our roots and start loving people again, and loving them exactly where they are in life. The church is supposed to be a place for broken people who realize they need Jesus, not a place where a righteous reputation is paramount and people feel judged and alone when they go through difficult trials. We need to remind ourselves constantly that the church is for and made up of broken people. It’s why we became Christians to begin with, because God broke us and showed us that we are horribly broken and that we will never be good enough, but that doesn’t matter, because He loved us too much.

So again, what would you do?

For me, I will always choose to err on the side of loving people.

Leave a Reply

